The most recent census release these eight mapping tools name is the 2020 to 2024 five-year American Community Survey. Four of them name it outright, and the other four carry Census Bureau data without saying which year it comes from.
Since the underlying numbers are largely public, the differences between tools come down to how clearly a tool dates its data, how small an area it reaches, and whether a business can put its own customer or site list on top.
What Separates One Census Mapping Tool From Another
The American Community Survey, or ACS, is the Census Bureau’s ongoing survey of income, age, housing and household makeup. Its five-year estimates pool five years of responses so that small areas have enough data to report.
The release a tool carries, such as 2020 to 2024, is called its vintage. A block group is the smallest area the five-year tables cover, usually a few hundred to a few thousand people. The ZCTA, short for ZIP Code Tabulation Area, is the Census Bureau’s stand-in for a ZIP code, and it does not match the Postal Service’s ZIP codes exactly.

1. PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a web mapping and analytics app built on a library of US public and licensed data, which its pricing page puts at more than 170 sources. Its census data page lists the 2000, 2010 and 2020 Census counts and ACS five-year releases from 2005-2009 through 2020-2024. That run of vintages lets a reader compare one neighborhood across time.
Map areas run from block group and census tract up through ZCTA, county and state. Subscribers can upload their own data to overlay on PolicyMap’s layers.
PolicyMap’s own pages note that its ZCTAs are not the same as USPS ZIP codes, and that the app does not show the ACS margins of error. Pricing is by quote, on a yearly subscription for an individual, team or enterprise.
2. Maptitude
Maptitude is Caliper’s mapping software for Windows, and its census data comes in a Country Package, one of which is free with a license. The 2026 US Country Package covers the 2020 and 2010 Census, 2024 ACS five-year fields, 2025 three- and five-digit ZIP codes, and ZIP Code Business Patterns.
A company’s own spreadsheet can be geocoded and mapped against those fields in the same project. The desktop subscription is $795 for one user for one year.
Caliper’s own US data page is less clear on geography. It says in one place that the data reaches the census tract level and in another that it goes down to block groups, so a buyer who needs block groups should confirm before relying on them.
3. CARTO
CARTO keeps its census data in a catalog rather than in the product itself. The Spatial Data Catalog lists ACS sociodemographics at the block group level as a public dataset that a team subscribes to. Premium datasets carry their own license.
Because CARTO runs on the customer’s data warehouse, a company’s own tables and the census layer live in the same place. A team that already runs CARTO for other work gets census context without adding a second vendor. The catalog listing does not state which ACS release it carries. CARTO publishes no prices, and its plans are quoted.
4. Social Explorer
Social Explorer is a web app for demographic maps and reports, and it has the longest history of any tool here. Historical comparisons go as far back as 1790, and its ACS five-year entry covers releases through 2020-2024 at the block group level.
Paid plans add address upload with geocoding, plus radius and drive-time reports. The single-user Professional plan is listed at $135 a month billed annually, $150 billed quarterly, or $195 billed monthly.
The free Basic plan, though, carries only Census 2000 data and no uploads. And the prices appear in a help-center article marked as updated about a year ago, not on the main site.

5. Esri ArcGIS Business Analyst
Esri ArcGIS Business Analyst carries the most recently dated data on this list. Esri’s June 2026 update brought its US current-year estimates and five-year forecasts to 2026 and 2031. The same update moved the ACS data to 2020-2024 and made about 500 ACS variables available at the block group level. Business Analyst comes in three forms: a web app, a desktop extension to ArcGIS Pro, and an Enterprise edition.
The 2026 and 2031 figures are Esri’s own estimates and forecasts, so they add to the ACS tables and do not replace them. Esri directs Business Analyst buyers to its sales team rather than listing a price.
6. Maptive
Maptive puts a team’s own spreadsheet rows on top of census figures. Its census layer runs to more than 50 US variables on every plan, so a map can be shaded by household income, population density or age, and Canadian census data is included too. Those figures come at the state, county, ZIP, tract and block group levels.
Its Customize Metrics panel shows the team’s columns next to the census fields in one pop-out, for boundaries, territories, radius circles and drive-time areas.
Maptive states no census year or ACS release anywhere on its site. Its pages say only that the data refreshes on a regular schedule from official US and Canadian government sources.
7. SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics, once called SimplyMap, is a web app for maps and reports that bundles licensed consumer and business data with the census. Its data page lists the ACS, a Community Demographics subset and the 2020 Census, alongside D&B business data, MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and Scarborough. Data can be viewed by state, county, ZIP code, tract or block group, and users can import their own records.
The site does not state which ACS release is current, and SimplyAnalytics publishes no prices.
8. MapBusinessOnline
MapBusinessOnline, from SpatialTEQ, includes geographic, demographic and business data in every subscription. The data comes from the US Census Bureau, Geolytics and Statistics Canada. Users work in installed Windows and macOS apps, and the maps are stored in the cloud. The Starter plan is $150 a year for one user with US maps.
The data year is not stated. Demographic reports and data export are not part of the free trial, and census tracts come only on the Standard and Pro plans.
How the Eight Tools Compare
Side by side, the eight differ most in the vintage column, where Maptive, CARTO, SimplyAnalytics and MapBusinessOnline name no ACS release.
| Tool | Census source and vintage as stated | Smallest geography | Own data on top | Price posture |
| PolicyMap | Decennial 2000-2020, ACS 5-year through 2020-2024 | Block group | Yes, upload | Quote, annual |
| Maptitude | 2020 Census, 2024 ACS 5-year | Census tract (page also says block group) | Yes | From $795 per user a year |
| CARTO | ACS in data catalog, release not stated | Block group | Yes, in the warehouse | Quote |
| Social Explorer | ACS 5-year through 2020-2024, history to 1790 | Block group | Yes, paid plans | Free Basic, Professional $135/month billed annually |
| Esri ArcGIS Business Analyst | ACS 2020-2024, Esri 2026/2031 estimates | Block group | Yes | Not published |
| Maptive | US Census and Statistics Canada, year not stated | Block group | Yes | Census included on every plan |
| SimplyAnalytics | ACS and Decennial 2020, ACS year not stated | Block group | Yes, import | Not published |
| MapBusinessOnline | Census Bureau, Geolytics, Statistics Canada, year not stated | Tract on Standard and Pro | Yes | From $150 a year |
Finding the ACS Release Behind a Tool’s Numbers
Vendors that date their census data usually do it on a data source page, in release notes or in the help center. When none of those names a release, ask for it in writing.
Three questions cover most of the risk. Which ACS five-year release is loaded? Are the figures raw ACS tables or the vendor’s own estimates? And does “ZIP” mean USPS ZIP codes or ZCTAs?
A single figure makes a quick check. Pick one census tract, read its median household income in the tool, and compare it with the Census Bureau’s own table for the release the vendor names.
